Design, Technology, & Society

The DESIGN, TECHNOLOGY, & SOCIETY program area investigates the interrelationship between information technology and social, political, and cultural processes and values. This includes both the analysis of the larger consequences of informatics systems and the criticism, design, and re-design of systems to address public needs and problems. Research may involve design processes, human communication and interaction, the larger contexts of these systems (such as the legal, economic, cultural, educational, or other contexts) and the repercussions of any of these topics.

RESEARCH THEMES

  • Collaborative Learning
  • Social Behavior
  • Digital Environments
  • Sustainability
  • Public Policy
  • Social Networks
  • Human Trust
  • Augmentation
  • Students in the Design, Technology, and Society Area investigate the interrelationship between information technology and social, political, and cultural processes and values.

    This includes both the analysis of the larger consequences of informatics systems and the criticism, design, and re-design of systems to address public needs and problems. Research may involve design processes, human communication and interaction, the larger contexts of these systems (such as the legal, economic, cultural, educational, or other contexts) and the repercussions of any of these topics.

    This program area supports students interested in pursuing informatics research from the intellectual traditions and methods of either the social sciences or the humanities, as well as the domains of community informatics and social informatics.

    People

    Area LeadsFaculty AffiliatesPhD Students

    NameEmailDepartment Karrie Karahalios kkarahal@illinois.edu Computer Science

    NameEmailDepartment Patrick Vargas pvargas@illinois.edu Advertising Mike Yao mzyao@illinois.edu Advertising Aaron Brakke aaron@illinois.edu Architecture Thérèse Tierney tierney@illinois.edu Architecture Eric Benson ebenson@illinois.edu Art & Design Ben Grosser grosser@illinois.edu Art & Design Kevin Hamilton kham@illinois.edu Art & Design Lisa Mercer lemercer@illinois.edu Art & Design Juan Salamanca jsal@illinois.edu Art & Design Molly Catherine Briggs mbriggs@illinois.edu Art + Design Jeni jeni@illinois.edu Chez Veterans Center Jacob Fisher jtfisher@illinois.edu College of Media M. Scott Poole mspoole@illinois.edu Communications Roy Campbell rhc@illinois.edu Computer Science Karrie Karahalios kkarahal@illinois.edu Computer Science Alex Kirlik kirlik@illinois.edu Computer Science Hanghang Tong htong@illinois.edu Computer Science Tao Xie taoxie@illinois.edu Computer Science Mark Dressman mdressma@illinois.edu Curriculum & Instruction Rochelle Gutierrez rg1@illinois.edu Curriculum & Instruction Robb Lindgren robblind@illinois.edu Curriculum & Instruction Emma Mercier mercier@illinois.edu Curriculum & Instruction Michael Tissenbaum miketiss@illinois.edu Curriculum & Instruction Nathan Castillo nathanc@illinois.edu Education Policy, Organization & Leadership Cynthia D’Angelo cdangelo@illinois.edu Educational Psychology Dan Morrow dgm@illinois.edu Educational Psychology John Gallagher johng@illinois.edu English Spencer Schaffner spencers@illinois.edu English Mei-Po Kwan mkwan@illinois.edu Geography John Randolph jwr@illinois.edu History Vivechkanand Chunoo vchunoo@illinois.edu Human Development and Family Studies Dan Cermak dcermak@illinois.edu Informatics Catherine Blake clblake@illinois.edu iSchool Anita Chan achan@illinois.edu iSchool Peter Darch ptdarch@illinois.edu iSchool Jana Diesner jdiesner@illinois.edu iSchool Yun Huang yunhuang@illinois.edu iSchool Lori Kendall loriken@illinois.edu iSchool Kyungwon Koh kkoh@illinois.edu iSchool Kathryn LaBarre klabarre@illinois.edu iSchool Bonnie Mak bmak@illinois.edu iSchool Jerome McDonough jmcdonou@illinois.edu iSchool Kate McDowell kmcdowel@illinois.edu iSchool Melissa Ocepek mgocepek@illinois.edu iSchool Judith Pintar jpintar@illinois.edu iSchool Eunice Santos eesantos@illinois.edu iSchool Jodi Schneider jodi@illinois.edu iSchool Linda Smith lcsmith@illinois.edu iSchool Carol Tilley ctilley@illinois.edu iSchool Michael Twidale twidale@illinois.edu iSchool Yang Wang yvw@illinois.edu iSchool Karen Wickett wickett2@illinois.edu iSchool Kate Williams katewill@illinois.edu iSchool Martin mwolske@illinois.edu iSchool Christopher Ball drball@illinois.edu Journalism Wendy Rogers wendyr@illinois.edu Kinesiology & Community Health Chung-Yi chiucy@illinois.edu Kinesiology and Community Health Arden Rowell karowell@illinois.edu Law Randall Sadler rsadler@illinois.edu Linguistics Eli Fieldsteel eli@illinois.edu Music Ryan Griffis ryan.griffis@gmail.com New Media Tatsuya Sakurahara sakurah2@illinois.edu Nuclear, Plasma & Radiological Engineering Zahra Mohaghegh zahra13@illinois.edu Nuclear, Plasma, and Radiological Engineering Scott Althaus salthaus@illinois.edu Political Science

    NameEmailArea John Bambenek bambenek@illinois.edu Design, Technology and Society
    Priscilla Boff Ferronato pf4@illinois.edu Design, Technology and Society
    Eugene Cox emcox3@illinois.edu Design, Technology and Society
    Juan De La Rosa juanad2@illinois.edu Design, Technology and Society
    Daniela Delgado Ramos dd6@illinois.edu Design, Technology and Society
    Gerry Derksen gderksen@illinois.edu Design, Technology and Society
    Alvarez Dixon alvarezd@illinois.edu Design, Technology and Society
    Craig Evans csevans2@illinois.edu Design, Technology and Society
    Claudia Grisales clg3@illinois.edu Design, Technology and Society
    Moazam Hakim mihakim2@illinois.edu Data Analytics and Information Visualization
    Design, Technology and Society
    Spatial Informatics
    Xiaotong Hu xh9@illinois.edu Data Analytics and Information Visualization
    Design, Technology and Society
    Tooba Imtiyaz tooba2@illinois.edu Art and Cultural Informatics
    Design, Technology and Society
    Ryan Ingebritsen ingebrit@illinois.edu Art and Cultural Informatics
    Design, Technology and Society
    Alexis Kim ankim2@illinois.edu Design, Technology and Society
    Susan Liepert liepert@illinois.edu Design, Technology and Society
    Daniela Markazi dmarkaz2@illinois.edu Design, Technology and Society
    Eunmi Moon ekmoon@illinois.edu Design, Technology and Society
    Monica Porteanu monicap2@illinois.edu Design, Technology and Society
    Tanusree Sharma tsharma6@illinois.edu Design, Technology and Society
    Cliff Shin thecliff@illinois.edu Design, Technology and Society
    Yaguang Sun yaguang2@illinois.edu Design, Technology and Society
    Sam Walkow swalkow2@illinois.edu Data Analytics and Information Visualization
    Design, Technology and Society
    Ke-Rou Wang kerourw2@illinois.edu Design, Technology and Society
    Tian Wang tianw7@illinois.edu Design, Technology and Society
    Pingjing Yang py2@illinois.edu Design, Technology and Society

    Courses

    Application CoursesFoundation Courses

    NumberTitleNotes CMN 529 CS Communication Technologies CMN 529 SP Theory and Research on Collaboration Technologies EPSY 590 Advanced Seminar in Ed Psyc Course name depends on section. INFO 555 Adv Educational Tech for Engagement & Interactive Learning IS 520 (formerly taught as IS 518) Community Informatics IS 578 (formerly taught as IS 590DH) Digital Humanities IS 586 (formerly taught as IS 555) Usability Engineering IS 590 DK Distributed Knowledge IS 590 EL E-Learning: Social and Technical Issues in E-learning IS 590 SD Digital Social Sciences IS 594D (formerly taught as IS 549) The Economics of Information MDIA 590 New Media Theory