Cognitive Science & Language Processing

COGNITIVE SCIENCE and LANGUAGE PROCESSING is a multidisciplinary program for students with an interest in computational approaches to intelligence. Cognitive science is the study of mind and intelligence, embracing philosophy, psychology, artificial intelligence, neuroscience, and linguistics. The central hypothesis of cognitive science assumes that the mind has mental representations analogous to computer data structures, and computational procedures similar to computer algorithms. Cognitive theorists have proposed that the mind contains such mental representations as logical propositions, rules, concepts, images, and analogies, and that it uses mental procedures such as deduction, search, matching, rotating, and retrieval.

RESEARCH THEMES

  • Machine Learning
  • Language Processing
  • Sentiment Analysis
  • Knowledge Engineering
  • Cyber Infrastructure
  • Computational Biology
  • Network Analysis
  • Cognitive Science and Language Processing is a multidisciplinary program for students with an interest in computational approaches to intelligence. Cognitive science is the study of mind and intelligence, embracing philosophy, psychology, artificial intelligence, neuroscience, and linguistics.

    The central hypothesis of cognitive science assumes that the mind has mental representations analogous to computer data structures, and computational procedures similar to computer algorithms. Cognitive theorists have proposed that the mind contains such mental representations as logical propositions, rules, concepts, images, and analogies, and that it uses mental procedures such as deduction, search, matching, rotating, and retrieval.

    Our program also includes the inverse direction, using human cognition to improve computer processing within speech and language understanding systems.

    People

    Area LeadsFaculty AffiliatesPhD Students

    NameEmailDepartment John Hummel jehummel@illinois.edu Psychology

    NameEmailDepartment Jacob Fisher jtfisher@illinois.edu Advertising Leona Yi-Fan Su lyfsu@illinois.edu Advertising Ben Grosser grosser@illinois.edu Art & Design Lisa Guntzviller guntzvi1@illinois.edu Communication Kevin Chang kcchang@illinois.edu Computer Science David Forsyth daf@illinois.edu Computer Science Julia Hockenmaier juliahmr@illinois.edu Computer Science Alex Kirlik kirlik@illinois.edu Computer Science Chengxiang Zhai czhai@illinois.edu Computer Science Emma Mercier mercier@illinois.edu Curriculum & Instruction Mark Hasegawa-Johnson jhasegaw@illinois.edu ECE Dan Morrow dgm@illinois.edu Educational Psychology Yi-Cheng Wang ycw@illinois.edu Food Science & Human Nutrition Catherine Blake clblake@illinois.edu iSchool Jessie Chin chin5@illinois.edu iSchool Jana Diesner jdiesner@illinois.edu iSchool Jing Rui He jingrui@illinois.edu iSchool Halil Kilicoglu halil@illinois.edu iSchool Jodi Schneider jodi@illinois.edu iSchool JooYoung jseo1005@illinois.edu iSchool Dong Wang dwang24@illinois.edu iSchool Roxana Girju girju@illinois.edu Linguistics Jonathan MacDonald jonmacd@illinois.edu Linguistics Lane Schwartz lanes@illinois.edu Linguistics Chilin Shih cls@illinois.edu Linguistics Gary Dell gdell@illinois.edu Psychology Cynthia Fisher clfishe@illinois.edu Psychology John Hummel jehummel@illinois.edu Psychology Daniel Simons dsimons@illinois.edu Psychology Chadly Stern chadly@illinois.edu Psychology

    NameEmailArea Ryan Chandler rchan8@illinois.edu Cognitive Science and Language Processing
    Ziyang Gong ziyangg2@illinois.edu Cognitive Science and Language Processing
    Design, Technology and Society
    Mohit Gupta mohitg2@illinois.edu Cognitive Science and Language Processing
    Data Analytics and Information Visualization
    Jamshed Kaikaus kaikaus2@illinois.edu Cognitive Science and Language Processing
    Data Analytics and Information Visualization
    Donald Keefer dkeefer@illinois.edu Cognitive Science and Language Processing
    Haoyang Liu hl57@illinois.edu Cognitive Science and Language Processing
    Mark Moran markdm2@illinois.edu Cognitive Science and Language Processing
    Nate Russell ntrusse2@illinois.edu Cognitive Science and Language Processing
    Janina Sarol mjsarol@illinois.edu Cognitive Science and Language Processing
    Data Analytics and Information Visualization
    Lixcy Vega lixcydv2@illinois.edu Cognitive Science and Language Processing
    Zhenrui Yue zhenrui3@illinois.edu Cognitive Science and Language Processing

    Courses